Honorary Professors

Dr. Durao Barroso

Dr. José Manuel Durão Barroso has been the President of the European Commission (2004-2014), Prime Minister of Portugal (2002-2004), Minister for Foreign Affairs (1992-1995), Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation (1987-1992) and Assistant Secretary of State to the Minister for Internal Affairs (1985-1987). He was also deputy of the National Assembly, having assumed the presidency of the Committee of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation. While at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, he was of crucial importance in the mediation of peace for Angola as well as in the negotiations for the independence of East Timor.

Dr. Barroso received his Bachelor’s degree in law from the University of Lisbon, Diploma in European Studies from the Institute of European Studies at the University of Geneva, and Master’s degree in Political Science from the Department of Political Science of the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Geneva. Amongst his other academic duties, he has served as a lecturer at the Faculty of Law of the University of Lisbon and at the Department of Political Science of the University of Geneva, as well as a Visiting Professor at Georgetown University (Washington, DC). At present, apart from his visiting professorship at Universidade Católica Portuguesa, where he also serves as Director of its Centre for European Studies, he is a Visiting Professor at Princeton University, US, the University of Geneva, and the Graduate Institute in the same city. He has published extensively in the fields of Political Science, International Relations and European issues.

Dr. Barroso has received honorary doctoral degrees from about 30 universities, and numerous national and international decorations, which include amongst others, the Grã-Cruz da Ordem Militar de Cristo and the Grande Colar da Ordem do Infante D. Henrique of Portugal.

Commemorative Album of the Honorary Professorship Conferment Ceremony for Dr José Manuel Durão Barroso

名譽教授

Dr. Durao Barroso

若澤.曼努埃爾.杜朗.巴羅佐博士曾當選為葡萄牙議會議員。1985至1987年,出任葡萄牙內政部助理國務秘書;1987至1992年,擔任葡萄牙外交暨合作部部長並任該部委員會主席;1992至1995年,任葡萄牙外交部部長;2002至2004年,任葡萄牙總理;2004至2014年,任歐盟委員會主席。在任職葡萄牙外交部部長期間,作為葡方在安哥拉內戰談判的調停人,以及東帝汶獨立談判的參與者,為安哥拉的和平和東帝汶的獨立作出了傑出的貢獻。

巴羅佐博士畢業於里斯本大學法律系,曾在日內瓦大學經濟社會科學院政治學系攻讀歐洲研究專業,並取得政治學碩士學位。其曾在里斯本大學法律系和日內瓦大學政治學系擔任講師,以及在美國華盛頓特區喬治敦大學擔任客座教授。目前,除了在葡萄牙天主教大學擔任客座教授,以及在該大學歐洲研究中心任中心主任外,其亦為美國普林斯頓大學、日內瓦大學和日內瓦國際關係和發展高等學院的客座教授。巴羅佐博士著有數部有關政治學、國際關係和歐洲問題的著作。

巴羅佐博士獲有約三十所大學頒發的榮譽教授稱號,並多次受到政府、國家和國際方面的授勳和表彰,其中包括葡萄牙基督軍團大十字勳章和葡萄牙殷皇子勳章等國家級褒獎。

巴羅佐名譽教授頒授儀式紀念特刊