External Examiners

Dr. Mark Jones

Programme examined: Computing (Bachelor's degree)

Dr Mark Jones joined the University of Brighton from industry in 1987. His career at the University has included a six-year period as Head of the School of Engineering which was followed by him forming and developing the Centre for Collaboration and Partnership, a department aimed at growing and supporting the Faculty of Science and Engineering’s work with external partners. He has been a member of the University’s Academic Board and Academic Development Committee, as well as having been Chair of the senior School committees.

More recently Dr Jones has been appointed as Faculty Academic Director with responsibility for external developments.  This role is predominantly focussed on the development and delivery of strategic projects with partners external to the University and utilises Dr Jones’ wide knowledge of both the commercial and Higher Education sectors.

Dr Jones has been successful in seeking grant funding both for his own projects and in his role as Head of the Centre for Collaboration and Partnership.  The majority of these have involved partnerships between academia and industry with the total funding running into millions of pounds.  

Dr Jones has research interests centred round Biomedical Engineering. These manifest in a number of areas including human interfacing, hardware and computational based signal processing, and data analysis.  He has supervised a number of PhD and Masters students to successful completion.  

Dr Jones has held a number of roles as an external examiner and as an external panel member for validation events. In addition to this, he has been an Accreditor for the IET since 2004, joining the IET Academic Accreditation Committee in 2005. He was Chair of this committee from 2011 to 2014. In these roles he has completed many accreditation visits in the UK and internationally, the majority of these being as panel Chair. Many universities have benefitted from his advice based on deep knowledge of the sector and academic accreditation.

Further to his accreditation work Dr Jones has also represented Engineering Council on EUR-ACE approval events in Turkey and Romania and has been a QAA assessor.

校外考試專家

馬克.瓊斯博士

負責課程:電腦學 (學士)

馬克.瓊斯博士 ,歐洲註冊工程師(European Engineer, Eur Ing)、英國工程技術學會會士(FIET),於1987年加入英國布萊頓大學(University of Brighton),曾任該校工程學院院長長達六年。瓊斯博士為大學學術委員會及學術發展委員會成員,以及擔任多個資深院級委員會的主席。

瓊斯博士擁有豐富的產學協作及學術評鑑經驗。在產學協作方面,他創辦了布萊頓大學科學暨工程學院產學協作中心,並擔任首任主管,為中心及其個人項目取得的產學協作相關資助金額累計達數百萬英磅。現時,他是負責該學院對外事務的“學院學術主任”,憑藉其對學界和業界的瞭解,致力與校外夥伴發展戰略合作計劃。

在學術評鑑方面,他曾多次擔任校外考試委員、校外評審專家等職務。自2004年,成為英國工程技術學會(IET)的評鑑專家;自2005年,成為IET學術評鑑委員會成員,並於2011-2014年間出任該委員會主席。瓊斯博士在英國及世界各地所參與的評鑑訪視多不勝數,當中他主持了大部分的評鑑委員會。除此以外,他曾代表英國工程委員會(Engineering Council)前赴土耳其及羅馬尼亞參加歐洲工程教育認證(EUR-ACE)的審批活動,也曾擔任英國高等教育質量保證局(QAA)的評審專家。

瓊斯博士的主要研究領域為生物醫學工程範疇,其中包括如人機互動介面、基於硬件及計算學上的訊號處理、數據分析等領域的研究,並成功指導多名博士及碩士生完成其畢業項目。