General Information

The history of the School of Health Sciences, Macao Polytechnic Institute, can be dated back to 1964 when the former Technical School of Macao Health Services, Macao Government, started to offer a 3-year higher diploma programme in nursing studies, medical laboratory technology and pharmacy technology. Technical School of Macao Health Services was later restructured to School of Health Sciences under Macao Polytechnic Institute since 1997. Since that inauguration, the nursing studies, medical laboratory technology and pharmacy technology programmes have implemented several revised curricula, with the most updated ones launched in 2013/2014 for Bachelor of Science in Nursing, and in 2011/2012 for Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Technology (Medical Laboratory Technology / Pharmacy Technology). In addition, upon requests from Macao government, School of Health Sciences would collaborate with other reputable universities in the region to provide ad hoc academic trainings for other allied healthcare professionals, such as Supplementary Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Studies (Physiotherapy / Occupational Therapy / Medical Imaging) in 2008/2009, and Bachelor of Science in Speech and Language Therapy in 2017/2018.

School of Health Sciences provides quality undergraduate training in nurses and allied healthcare professionals, equipping students to become registered nurses, registered medical laboratory technologists, and registered pharmacy technicians upon graduation. In 2016/2017, School of Health Sciences is supported by 26 experienced full-time teachers in the areas of nursing studies, medical laboratory technology and pharmacy technology for the provision of such quality training. All senior faculty members, with titles of associate professors or above, and 19 out of 26 lecturers, hold PhD or professional doctorate titles in relevant fields. Besides the academic excellence in staff portfolio, all faculty members should have at least 3 years of clinical experiences before being able to join School of Health Sciences as a teacher. In order to provide practice-based training for our students, School of Health Sciences is equipped with 7 nursing laboratories and 9 biomedical technology laboratories in 7/F – 8/F, Meng Tak Building, Macao Polytechnic Institute. Clinical internship placement sites are also secured via numerous formal agreements with organizations in Macao SAR and beyond, such as Health Bureau, Kiang Wu Hospital, IACM, pharmaceutical manufacturers, community pharmacy, diagnostic laboratory, and etc.

Graduates from School of Health Sciences are with promising future. With almost 100% employment rate among our graduates, newly registered nurses, medical laboratory technologists and pharmacy technicians have promising career prospects after graduation. Furthermore, School of Health Sciences is dedicated to provide articulation routes for graduates who wish to have further training. In collaboration with other universities, School of Health Sciences provides quality advanced graduate training for nurses and allied healthcare professionals. In 2016/2017, joint master programmes in the area of nursing studies and medical laboratory technology are launched in School of Health Sciences, Macao Polytechnic Institute, with Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, and Chung Shan Medical University, Taichung, respectively. Among overseas choices, nursing graduates, medical laboratory technology graduates and pharmacy technology graduates can choose to articulate for Master in Nursing Practice, Monash University, Australia, Master in Nursing Studies Master of Laboratory Medicine, RMIT University, Australia, and Doctor of Pharmacy, University of Illinois, United States, respectively, or all relevant higher degrees in Greater China region (mainland China, Taiwan, Hong Kong & Macau), for further professional training at advanced levels.

概況

澳門理工學院-高等衛生學校的歷史可追溯由澳門政府於1964年設立的前衛生司技術學校,為本澳提供以護理學,醫學檢驗技術和藥劑技術3年制高級文憑課程。其後澳門衛生司技術學校於1997年併入澳門理工學院,並改名為高等衛生學校。自高等衛生學校成立後,本校一直致力於護理學、醫學檢驗技術、藥劑技術課程的改革,以完善課程設置及配合社會需要;亦分別於2010 /2011年推行新的護理學學士課程,及在2011/2012學年推行生物醫學技術理學士學位課程(醫學實驗室技術/藥劑技術)。此外,在澳門政府的要求下,高等衛生學校又與其他著名高等院校合作,培訓輔助醫療專業人員,如於2008/2009學年舉辦診療技術學士學位補充課程(物理治療/職業治療/影像科),並預計於2017/2018舉辦言語語言治療理學士學位課程。

高等衛生學校提供了具素質的護理學和生物醫學理學士學位課程(檢驗技術/藥劑技術),以培訓學生畢業後成為註冊護士、醫學檢驗技術員及藥劑技術人員。在2016/2017學年,本校師資團隊由26名教學經驗豐富的專業教師組成,當中所有具教授及副教授職稱的老師均有博士學位,而全部教師均有最少三年以上的臨床經驗。為了給學生臨床實踐的練習場所,高等衛生學校分別於7樓及8樓設置了7間護理實驗室和9間生物醫學技術實驗室。此外,本校通過簽訂合作協議,讓本校學生可於本澳及海外多間醫護及社區機構如衛生局、鏡湖醫院、民政總署、藥品生產企業、社區藥房及診斷實驗室等進行實習。

高等衛生學校畢業生具有廣闊的前景,其就業率差不多達100%,本校畢業生畢業後大多從事護士,醫學檢驗技術員及和藥劑技術員的工作。此外,為擴展學生視野及與國際接軌,本校與國際多間高等學術機構簽署合作協議,進行形式多樣的學術交流活動如互派學生交流實習及合辦課程等。在2016/2017學年,本校分別與香港理工大學和臺灣臺中中山醫學大學合辦護理學和醫學檢驗碩士學位課程。另外,本校畢業生亦可選擇到外地升學,如澳大利亞莫納什大學的護理學碩士課程、墨爾本皇家理工大學的臨床檢驗醫學碩士課程、美國伊利諾伊州大學的藥學博士課程或其他鄰近地區升學(中國大陸、台灣、香港及澳門)。