Overseas Study Programmes 2018

Student Sharing
 

The Student Affairs Office of the Macao Polytechnic Institute (MPI) organised in the past summer the “Overseas Study Programme”, under which outstanding MPI students went to Melbourne, Australia, and attended a 3-week intensive course at the famous Monash University. The course featured four key aspects, namely developing global perspectives, fostering the ability to adapt to diverse cultures, strengthening the global professional skills and appreciating different corporate cultures. All participating students agreed that this overseas study tour was a greatly gainful experience since their professional knowledge had been deepened while their horizons broadened.

The “Overseas Study Programme” adopted the interactive mode of learning, metaphorically placing the students in the centre and the course trainers on the periphery. The latter played only a supportive role in facilitating the students to brainstorm new ideas and stimulating their creativity with such class activities as small group discussions, presentations and language games. The students also visited the Immigration Museum under the Programme; from their observations at the museum, they realised the multicultural characteristics of Australian societies and experienced first-hand the fashion culture of past immigrants to Australia by putting on their traditional clothes. Furthermore, MPI students visited a city council and well-established enterprises and conversed with the managerial personnel, from whom they were able to learn the Australian corporate culture and the related policies, and understand how to manage corporations of a considerable size and overcome challenges. The visits to those public and private organisations inspired the students immensely and stimulated their thoughts on career planning.

During their stay in Melbourne, MPI students lived individually with local homestay families. The warm and passionate reception of the homestay families and their careful and considerate care instantaneously eased the students’ nervousness, allowing them to quickly adapt to the local daily life and live with them in harmony. Moreover, the students communicated with the family members in English, thus extending their extra-curricular learning of the language. In their free time, the students participated in numerous local expeditions to cultural destinations, including the Queen Victoria Market, the Great Ocean Road, Phillip Island, Dandi Beach, the Melbourne Zoo and the National Gallery of Victoria, and experienced the local customs. They put what they learnt from the course to good use in their extra-curricular activities, and concluded this study tour in a happy and relaxed manner.

The organiser, the MPI Student Affairs Office, commented that MPI would continue promoting the cooperation with universities overseas so as to provide students with more highly comprehensive cross-cultural learning opportunities and encourage students to “Read thousands of books and travel thousands of miles”. Overseas study program helps students to acquire international commercial expertise, enhance their global competitiveness and expand their horizons, and let new thoughts, trends and cultures of a good quality come with the returning students to Macao, thereby laying a solid foundation for building a multifaceted city of wisdom.

海外學習計劃 2018

學生分享
 

理工學生澳洲學習拓國際視野

理工學生積極參與互動式課堂

澳門理工學院學生事務處於剛剛過去的暑假期間舉辦“海外學習計劃”,組織近三十名不同專業的優秀學生前往澳洲墨爾本著名的蒙納士大學展開為期三周的學習交流活動,學習內容包括全球視野、跨文化能力、全球專業技能及企業文化參與等範疇,參與學生均表示海外學習拓展專業知識和國際視野,獲益匪淺。

“海外學習計劃”採取互動式課程,以學生為中心,導師擔任輔助角色,利用小組討論、口述匯報和語言遊戲等激活學生思考能力及創意,並引導他們思考生涯發展。除了課堂學習全球營商環境及工作實務外,課程還安排理工學生參觀移民博物館,認識澳洲多元文化及社會特色;同學們還在博物館內試穿歷代移民的傳統服裝,體驗他們的服飾文化。另外,理工學生還參訪了墨爾本私人保險公司、國際性會計師行、企業管理顧問公司、當地大型建築公司及汽車公司等,與管理層進行會面,瞭解機構文化特色和相關政策,如何管理大型機構並面對挑戰,啟發學生對生涯發展的思考。

修讀工商管理的梁同學表示,老師上課時風趣幽默,課堂氣氛活躍,還能夠與來自其他國家的大學生共同學習,體驗多元文化並收穫了友誼。藥劑專業劉同學表示,寄宿家庭溫暖熱情的招待和關心照顧緩解了緊張心情,能夠更快適應當地生活,並學到很多待人接物的道理;全英語溝通則有助延續課堂以外的英語學習。電子商務專業莫同學則對當地文化考察印象深刻,包括維多利亞女皇市場、大洋路、企鵝島、丹迪街海灘、墨爾本動物園和國家美術館,她認為既能夠體驗當地風土人情,還可將英語技巧靈活運用於課外活動中,輕鬆愉快地完成學習之旅。

主辦活動的理工學生事務處表示,澳門理工學院積極與海內外高校開展交流合作,提供學生全面及深入的跨文化學習機會,鼓勵學生“讀萬卷書,行萬里路”。海外學習有效促進學生語言、學術、日常生活及文化等方面的交流及學習,提升學生作為世界公民的質素,有助學生全面發展,成為建設澳門和國家所需要的優秀人才,並將良好的新思維、新作風、新文化帶回本澳,為共同構建一個多元化、智慧型的社會奠下基石。