Go To Macao Polytechnic Institute

Director's Message

Director of School of Applied Sciences

Professor Tse Tan Sim, Rita

Tel (853) 8599 3280
Fax (853) 2871 9227
Email ritatse@ipm.edu.mo
Office Room M512, Meng Tak Building

Welcome to the School of Applied Sciences at the Macao Polytechnic Institute!

The School of Applied Sciences was formerly known as the School of Administration and Applied Sciences. It had been established when MPI was founded in 1991 and was later renamed as the School of Public Administration. It was officially named the School of Applied Sciences on August 7, 2019. It is one of the oldest schools at MPI.

Our mission is to provide the most suitable and timely training and learning environment in the two academic domains of computing and social sciences, with a view to catering to the rising demands of the community for more capable graduates who can adapt to the changing times with a creative mind and a mastery of practical skills, to remain competitive and excel in their further studies and prospective employment.

For years, our school has committed to upgrading and supervising the teaching quality and promoting the integration of our curriculum to align with international standards. The bachelor's degree in computing has successfully passed the accreditation review by the British Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) in 2011. In 2018, the project "A New Model of Talent Cultivation——The Construction and Practice of Internationally Recognized Engineers" was awarded the "National Higher Education Achievement Award" by the Ministry of Education, the first and the only tertiary institution in Macau to have received this award. In recent years, our undergraduate students in the computing program have represented Macau to participate and subsequently won many nation-wide and international awards. These have included, a Gold Medal for the World Vocational Skills Competition-Website Design Project, China's Youth Innovation and Technology Award, the First Prize and the Most Practical Value Award of the Pan-Pearl River Delta + College Student Computer Works Competition, bringing great honours and reputation to Macao. Starting from the 2019/2020 academic year, our school will launch a master's degree program in Big Data and the Internet of Things, and a doctoral program in Computer Applied Technology to cultivate high-level professional talents. Furthermore, our school has participated in the first Ministry of Education Engineering Research Centre project for the Hong Kong and Macao regions since 2019, namely, the "Engineering Research Centre of Machine Translation and Artificial Intelligence on Applied Technology, Ministry of Education", making contributions to building China into a strong science and technology powerhouse.

Our bachelor's degree program in Sino-Lusophone Trade Relations was launched to align with the implementation of China's “Belt and Road” Initiative, with a view to nurturing talents for constructing Macao into a Platform of business cooperation service between China and Portuguese-speaking countries, thus contributing our efforts to further expand the China-Portugal relations.

Our school always listens to our students' needs, collecting and responding to their feedback on the quality of teaching in a timely manner, to proactively promote a strong rapport between teachers and students. Meanwhile, we support and encourage our faculty staff in their academic development and training, upgrading their professional standards continuously. We organize academic exchanges frequently to establish partnerships with institutions at home and abroad that are conducive to academic research and student career development. By so doing, we are creating more space for our students to leverage their potentials for development and contributing their knowledge and expertise to the community.

Looking to the future, our teaching teams will commit ourselves to both teaching and scientific research, to broaden our reputation and prestige in international academia, and to foster a diversified learning environment. We welcome everyone to join our big family and to work together with us for a bright future ahead!

Professor Tse Tan Sim, Rita
Professor and Director of School of Applied Sciences

Top Top

返回澳門理工學院

校長寄語

應用科學高等學校校長

謝丹嬋教授

電話 (853) 8599 3280
傳真 (853) 2871 9227
電郵 ritatse@ipm.edu.mo
辦公室 明德樓 M512 室

歡迎來到澳門理工學院應用科學高等學校!

應用科學高等學校原名行政暨應用科學學校,於1991年學院成立時設立,後來改名為公共行政高等學校,於2019年8月7日正式命名為應用科學高等學校,為澳門理工學院歷史最悠久的學校之一。

學校的使命是在電腦及社會科學兩個學術領域內提供最適切的培訓及學習環境,配合社會的需要培養與時並進、有創意及實幹的學生,確使其無論升學或就業都具備競爭力。

長期以來,我校致力提升及監督課程的教學質量,促進課程與國際接軌,電腦學學士學位課程早於2011年成功通過英國工程技術學會(IET)的學術評審,2018年有關電腦課程的《國際化人才培養的新模式──國際認可工程師學歷教育的構建與實踐》項目獲國家教育部“高等教育國家級教學成果獎”,成為澳門首家及唯一高等院校獲此殊榮;近年,電腦學學士學位課程的學生多次代表澳門出賽,且屢獲世界及國家級獎項,如世界職業技能競賽 - 網站設計項目金牌、中國青少年創新科技奬、泛珠三角+大學生計算機作品賽一等獎及最佳實用價值獎,為澳增光。本校於2019/2020學年起開辦電腦學相關的大數據與物聯網碩士、計算機應用技術博士學位課程,培育高端專業人才。此外,本校由2019年起參與港澳地區首家教育部工程研究中心項目──“機器翻譯暨人工智能應用技術教育部工程研究中心”,為國家建設科技強國作出貢獻。

而中國與葡語系國家經貿關係學士學位課程,則致力配合國家“一帶一路”發展,為澳門建設中國與葡語系國家商貿合作服務平台培養人才,為拓展中葡關係作出貢獻。

我校十分關切學生的需要,適時收集學生對教學質量的反饋,積極推動建立良好的師生關係,並支持及鼓勵教學人員的專業及學術培訓,提升教學人員的專業素養;積極組織學術交流,建立與國內外機構有利於學術和學生職業發展的關係,為學生開拓更寬更廣的發展空間,期待他們發揮所長貢獻社會。

未來,我們的教學團隊,將繼續致力實踐教學與科研並重,提升國際聲望,建立多元學習環境,歡迎各位加入我校的大家庭,攜手邁進新里程!

謝丹嬋
應用科學高等學校校長及教授

Top Top