Message from the President

Welcome to the Macao Polytechnic Institute (MPI) website!

Founded in 1991, we are a public, multi-disciplinary, application-based institution of higher learning. Since the handover in 1999, with “knowledge, expertise, global vision” as our motto, we have adhered to the Macao SAR government’s guideline of carrying forward the integration of Chinese and Western cultural traditions. Painstaking efforts have been made in unleashing our advantages in Portuguese teaching to enhance Macao’s role as a platform for communication between China and Portuguese-speaking countries. A couple of years ago, I was awarded the title of academician of the Academy of Sciences of Lisbon and honorary doctorate from the University of Lisbon, which in nature is a testimonial of the Institute’s efforts in promoting Portuguese and its contributions to building closer ties between China and Portuguese-speaking countries.

In response to the SAR Government’s higher education policy of promoting academic accreditation, we invited UK Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) to conduct an Institutional Review in 2013. In February 2014, QAA announced on its website that MPI has received a Judgement of “confidence”, the highest rating given by the QAA. This is the first internationally recognised institutional review ever undertaken by a higher education institution in Macao. QAA has commended MPI’s academic standards, quality of learning opportunities, information about learning opportunities, and enhancement of learning quality, thus demonstrating that MPI meets international standards.

The achievements have been made possible thanks to the support and trust of the SAR Government, the community, our staff, students and parents. We will continue to implement the Government’s policies and higher education planning as well as adhere to QAA’s rigorous standards in terms of curriculum design, teaching materials, pedagogy, research performance, management etc. Following this Institutional Review, MPI’s engagement in programme validation will be further intensified. Since 2011 several of our academic programmes have already been professionally validated. Examples include the computing programme validated by the UK Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), the e-Commerce programme by the US Institute of Certified E-Commerce Consultants, and the Accounting programme by the CPA Australia and the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), UK. In the future we will continue our endeavour to ensure all the programmes are academically validated, optimising the education provision in anticipation of our students graduating with “knowledge, expertise and global vision”.

Again, welcome to browse through our website or, better yet, visit us on our nice little campus.

Prof. Lei Heong Iok

院長歡迎辭

歡迎蒞臨澳門理工學院網站!

澳門理工學院成立於1991年,是公立、多學科、應用型的高等學府。回歸以來,我院秉承特區政府弘揚澳門融匯中西方文化傳統的方針,以“普專兼擅、中西融通”為校訓,著意發揮葡語教學的優勢,努力實踐中國將澳門打造成與葡語國家溝通平臺的決策。葡萄牙方面近年頒予我“葡萄牙里斯本科學院院士”和“里斯本大學榮譽博士學位”。這既是我本人的榮幸,更是對我院致力於推廣葡語和溝通中國與葡語國家聯繫的褒贊。

近年,我院為響應特區政府“推動評鑑”的高教政策,遂於2013年初聘請國際高等教育權威學術評鑑機構-英國高等教育質量保障局進行院校評鑑。2014年2月,該局在網頁上向全球公佈:我院以“充滿信心”的評級通過該局的院校評鑑。這是澳門首間高等學府通過國際認可的院校評鑑。該局對我院的學術水準、學生學習質量、教育資訊和持續改善教學質量表示滿意,證明我院辦校水平達到國際標準。

我院能得此佳績,與特區政府、社會各界和師生家長一直以來的支持和信任是分不開的。我院未來將會繼續在課程設計、教材教法、科研水準、行政管理等各項工作中,堅持落實特區政府的施政方針和高等教育規劃,並按照英國高等教育質量保障局嚴格的標準,以這次院校評鑑的豐碩成果來進一步推進院內各個課程的評審工作。繼2011年以來,我院電腦學學士學位課程通過了英國工程技術學會課程評審、電子商務課程獲得美國電子商務協會、會計學學士學位課程獲得澳洲註冊會計師公會及英國特許公認會計師公會專業認證。不久將來,我院將按部就班地對其餘課程進行學術評鑑,繼續為澳門社會培養“普專兼擅,中西融通”的棟樑之才。

如欲了解詳情,誠邀您經常瀏覽我院網站,更歡迎您親臨 “小而美,小而精”的理工校園。

院長李向玉教授 

院長李向玉教授