External Examiners

Prof. Francis S.L. Kwok

Programme examined: Biomedical Technology –Medical Laboratory Technology (Bachelor's degree)

Professor Francis S. L. Kwok, a noted scientist in the field of Biochemistry, received his BSc in Biology and Chemistry from the East Tennessee State University and his PhD in Biochemistry from the University of Tennessee, US. His university career began at the School of Pharmacy in the University of South Australia where he served for 10 years teaching students in both Pharmacy and Medical Laboratory Science at all levels. He then moved to the Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, serving in various academic ranks up to professorship for another decade.

Professor Kwok's research covers areas in vitamin B6 metabolism, signal transduction in cancer cells and molecular cloning leading to industrial scale production of gamma-interferons. His research output has been published in over 80 papers in prestigious journals and research proceedings including Journal of Biological Chemistry, Biochemistry, European Journal of Biochemistry, and Biochimica and Biophysica Communications. In 2000 he obtained a HKD 50,000,000 grant from the Hong Kong Government to establish the Centre for Manufacture in Chinese Medicines, where the Lung Protection Concoction was produced later during the SARS epidemic in 2002-2003. In addition, he has also served as an assessor for the Research Grant Council of Hong Kong and the Australian Research Council.

Professor Kwok has extensive experience in course development and validation, having served as chair of more than 10 assessment/validation panels. In the late 1990s he was appointed Head of Applied Science in Hong Kong Technical College (Chai Wan) driving the transformation of its educational provision. In 2002 Professor Kwok began to serve as Principal of the Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (Lee Wai Lee Campus) under the Vocational Training Council, engaging himself in the strategic development of VTC programmes through liaison with local industries. During 2004-2005, before his return to Australia, he and his team developed in collaboration with the watch industry and the Education Bureau the first Qualification Framework (QF) in Hong Kong, this becoming a paradigm for other QF development in the region.

校外考試專家

郭樹禮教授

負責課程:生物醫學—檢驗技術(學士)

郭樹禮教授,知名生物化學學者,獲東田納西州州立大學生物及化學學士學位、田納西大學生物化學博士學位。曾先後任教於南澳洲大學藥劑學院、香港理工大學應用生物及化學科技學系各10年,教授學士至博士程度的藥劑及醫學檢驗課程。

郭教授的研究主要涵蓋維生素B6的代謝作用、癌細胞的信號轉導,以及應用於大規模生產γ干擾素的分子複製技術三個範疇,其研究成果獲廣泛出版,已發表論文超過80篇,於Journal of Biological Chemistry、Biochemistry、European Journal of Biochemistry、Biochimica and Biophysica Communications等國際權威學術刊物。2000年,郭教授獲香港政府5千萬港元資助,創立中藥業發展中心;2002-2003年沙士期間的”抗毒補肺湯”中藥顆粒便是由該中心協助製成。此外,郭教授還曾為香港研究資助局和澳洲研究委員會擔任項目評審員。

郭教授對課程發展和核證富有經驗,曾為10多個評審/核證委員會擔任主席。1990年代末,郭教授獲委任為香港科技學院(柴灣)應用科學系主任,大力推動課程改革。2002年,出任專業訓練局轄下的香港專業教育學院(李惠利分校)校長,積極開展與業界的聯繫,促進職訓局課程的戰略發展。2004-2005年期間,在其返回澳洲以前,郭教授與鐘錶業界及教育局合作,建立香港第一個資歷架構,成為日後香港其他資歷架構的楷模。