Macao Polytechnic Institute – Knowledge, Expertise, Global Vision!

Highlights

MPI’s Diverse Activities Brushed Up Students’ English



MPI's diverse activities brushed up students' English

 

The “Brushing Up Your English” activities created a campus-wide English learning environment at the Macao Polytechnic Institute (“MPI”) to enhance the students’ proficiency in the language.  This series of activities, which was the fruitful outcome of a collaboration between the Student Affairs Office and the MPI-BELL Centre of English (the “Centre”), included an exam preparation course, an Easter party, a singing contest, a social interaction course, writing workshops, lunch gatherings and movie nights.  Well received among the undergraduates, the activities not only brushed up their English but also further lightened the joyful campus atmosphere.

The “English Writing Clinic” aimed at improving the students' writing skills and encouraged them to write more and better in English.  Ms. Chou, one of the many students who often queued up outside the “clinic” to consult the Centre's teaching assistants from the United States of America for advice on their English assignments and other academic writings, said that the assistants were friendly and efficient in reviewing their written work, and delivered on the spot practical tips and personalised advice in respect of the students' English essays and compositions, helping them write more accurately and competently.

The “IELTS Preparation Course” provided focused, exam-oriented preparation for those students who intended to take the English proficiency test and allowed them to practise in advance their reading, writing, listening and speaking.  One student, Mr. Leong, said that since he would further his study in an English-speaking country after graduation, an IELTS certificate, which is recognised worldwide as evidence of one's proficiency in English, is important for aspiring postgraduate students like him.  The test scores, he added, could also reflect where his strengths and weaknesses lie, and if necessary, he would make timely improvement accordingly.  Taught by the Centre's trainer who was an experienced IELTS examiner, the course helped build up Mr. Leong’s confidence in passing the test with flying colours.

The “Film Club” increased the students' exposure to everyday English through watching popular English movies during the extracurricular hours and augmented the enjoyment of learning the language.  Mark, one of the Centre's assistants, who has taught English at different countries, believes that watching English movies or TV shows is an effective way to learn the language in that students can jot down the contents which they do not comprehend for subsequent consultation with their professors or the dictionary, and review at leisure the on-screen dialogues which they have come across for better understanding.  Ms. Chan, who always attended the “Film Club” sessions, said that the movies shown this semester were excellent, especially “The Departed”, “The Bucket List”, “Big Fish” and “Babel”, and that it was great fun watching films with her fellow schoolmates.  Now, she has developed the habit of watching English movies and TV shows in her spare time, continuously deepening her understanding and familiarity of spoken English.



The IELTS Preparation Course



The Film Club



The English Easter Party

Before the “English Easter Party” took place, the students were introduced to highly recommended English books and encouraged to do extracurricular reading, so that they would further develop their interest and expand their knowledge in English literature.  In the party which followed, the students mingled with each other and played together various interesting, Easter-themed games, which had been designed to bolster their confidence in communicating and networking in English.  One student, Mr. Yip, said that he met students from other disciplines at the party and in its convivial, informal atmosphere quickly made friends with them, with whom he chatted and laughed heartily.  Having such new friends as his English buddies, Mr. Yip was confident that his speaking and listening skills would improve a lot in no time.

Best English Performance”, an award newly added to the “I Play My Music” Singing Competition, was created to foster and popularise the culture of listening to English songs and to improve the students’ pronunciation and English proficiency through singing.  Ana, one of the students from Lusophone countries and a contestant in the competition, said that she likes singing very much and singing English songs has helped her get accustomed to the English vowels and consonants and heighten her awareness of the lingual niceties.  In her opinion, there is no better, happier way to learn the language than singing.

The “Effective Presentation” course, run by the Centre’s foreign trainers with English as the medium of instruction, served the dual purposes of strengthening the students’ public speaking skills and assisting them in better preparing for the final-year projects.  One student, Ms. Lio, said that she gained from the course practical, personalised feedback which was directed at improving her presentation techniques and style.  Besides, and to her pleasant surprise, Ms. Lio noticed that after completing the course her reading comprehension skill became much better by analysing and deliberating the data and materials for presentation.

Studying Abroad and Socialising in English”, a course run by the Centre’s foreign trainers, helped the students get ready for short-term study tours and overseas postgraduate study by adapting to academic exchanges and social interactions in English.  One student, Mr. Leong, said that the course was composed of interactive activities and real-life scenarios in which the students could practise speaking with native English speakers in different contexts, making them comfortable and confident in living and studying in an English-speaking country.

The “English Lunch Gatherings” offered weekly opportunities for the Taipa Hostel students, who live off-campus, to engage in English conversations during lunchtime.  Organised by the Centre's teaching assistant from the United States of America and becoming very popular among the students, the gatherings aimed to raise their interest in topics of current affairs in English and further improve their oral skills.  As one could observe at the lunch gatherings, the hostel students were actively communicating and interacting with each other.  As a result, their ability of socialising in English was considerably enhanced, so was the compassion for each other and the cohesion among them.

To reward their continuous and active participation in the above activities, the students were provided with an opportunity to take the Cambridge English – BEC Vantage Exam, an internationally recognised English proficiency test.  As the co-organisers of the “Brushing Up Your English” series jointly stated, there is as always a strong and excellent academic and teaching team of English at MPI and the team members, each with his or her own advantage, have been promoting English learning on campus in an all-round manner and by infusing it into the extracurricular activities.  Their concerted efforts have resulted in a campus-wide English learning environment conducive to elevating the students’ academic and everyday English standards and laying a solid language foundation for study and careers in future.



The Effective Presentation course



The Studying Abroad and Socialising in English course



The English Lunch Gatherings

澳門理工學院 - 普專兼擅 中西融通

焦點訊息

理工多元英語活動成效佳



理工多元英語活動成效佳

 

澳門理工學院學生事務處與理工-貝爾英語中心合辦的「閃亮英語系列活動」透過豐富多元的活動形式 - 英文寫作坊、雅思試前準備課程、英語電影欣賞會、復活節英語派對、英語歌唱比賽、遊學及社交英語班、英語午間聚會等,致力為學生營造看、聽、說、寫、想、知的英語學習環境,吸引眾多理工學生參與,有效提升了學生英語水平並活躍了校園氣氛。

「英文寫作坊」旨在增強學生英文書寫能力,同時營造及帶動英語寫作的校園文化。經常帶上英語功課或其他英文作品參與寫作坊的周同學表示,來自美國的理工-貝爾英語教學助理非常熱情且高效,一對一個性化指導讓自己受益匪淺,英語寫作能力得到有效提升。

「雅思試前準備課程」為參加雅思國際英語水平測試的學生提供密集式試前準備,內容涵蓋讀、寫、聽、講各範疇。參加該課程的梁同學打算畢業後前往海外升學,她表示“雅思”考試作為國際化英語水平的認証考試,對海外升讀研究生非常重要,同時也可透過測試了解自己在英文方面的優點和不足,及時加以改善。準備課程由理工-貝爾英語中心的“雅思”主考官任教,讓梁同學對取得雅思試好成績更有信心。

「英語電影欣賞會」讓學生於課餘時間透過欣賞英語電影增加接觸日常英語的機會及學習英語的趣味。曾在世界各地教授英語的理工-貝爾英語中心教學助理Mark認為,看英語電影或電視劇是學習英語非常有效的方法,慢慢咀嚼劇中對白,抄下不明白的內容,再仔細詢問研究,一定會對學英文有很大收穫。觀看英語電影的陳同學稱,非常喜歡這學期放映的電影The Departed、The Bucket List、Big Fish及Babel,學習英語之餘又可與同學們一起體驗看電影的樂趣,現在已經養成課餘時間“煲”英語電影或電視劇的習慣,對英語口語表達方式有了更深的認知和熟悉度。



雅思試前準備課程



英語電影欣賞會



復活節英語派對

「復活節英語派對」會提前向學生推薦英語書籍,鼓勵學生進行課外閱讀,提升英語文學素質。隨後的英語派對以復活節為主題,進行各類有趣活潑的互動遊戲,提供英語社交活動場合,讓學生建立並增強以英語進行日常交際的信心,擴闊社交圈子。參加派對的葉同學表示,別出心裁的主題活動讓自己認識了不少新朋友,而且在沒有壓力和輕鬆愉快的心情下學習英語,對提高自己的英語聽講及運用能力有很大幫助。

「I Play My Music歌唱比賽」設最佳英語歌曲獎,鼓勵學生於課餘時間聽唱英語歌曲,並透過歌唱形式改善英語發音及提升對英語的熟練程度。來自葡語國家的Ana同學表示,自己很喜歡唱歌,唱英文歌對記憶歌詞及培養對英語的敏感度很有效,是非常快樂且實用的學習方式。

「英語簡報技巧班」由理工-貝爾英語中心外籍導師以英語全程指導,強化學生的英語公開表達和口頭匯報技巧,及協助學生更好地準備畢業專題報告。參加技巧班的劉同學表示,學習中不但鍛煉了英語口語匯報能力,透過對簡報的思考和分析同時增強了閱讀理解能力。

「遊學及社交英語班」由理工-貝爾英語中心外籍導師以英語全程指導,讓計劃到海外進修或短期遊學的學生及早適應使用英語與當地師生進行學術交流及日常社交活動。畢業後打算前往海外升學的梁同學認為,外籍導師預設多種場景,讓自己的英語應用能力得到針對性的改善,今後能夠更有信心運用英語在海外生活及學習。

「英語午間聚會」定期為位於主校區外的氹仔宿舍學生提供方便的英語會話練習機會,鼓勵學生善用課餘時間使用英語,提升對英語的興趣,改善日常英語技巧。宿舍學生積極參與,與來自美國的理工-貝爾英語中心助教溝通互動,不但加強了英語口語社交能力,還提升了同學之間的關愛和凝聚力。

「劍橋商務英語考試」(Cambridge English – BEC Vantage Exam)為積極參加閃亮英語系列活動的學生提供參加國際認可英語考試的機會。主辦「閃亮英語系列活動」的學生事務處及理工-貝爾英語中心表示,澳門理工學院英語師資力量雄厚,利用自身優勢全方位推動英語學習成效顯著,課外活動滲入英文元素,讓學生置身英語環境中,有效提升學生學術及日常英語,為學生將來就業及深造打下良好語言基礎。



英語簡報技巧班



遊學及社交英語班



英語午間聚會