General Information

mpiEstablished on September 16, 1991, Macao Polytechnic Institute (MPI) is a public institution of higher education with an emphasis on applied knowledge and skills. MPI’s motto is “knowledge, expertise and global vision”, and the Institute strives to achieve international standards in teaching and learning, building an e-campus, ensuring administrative compliance with the law and sound research management. Small in size and compact in structure, MPI adopts the strategy of “dual emphasis on teaching and research”, with a commitment to remain “rooted in Macao and backed up by the motherland while facing the world and striving for excellence”. The present members of the Board of Management are Professor Lei Heong Iok, President, Professor Im Sio Kei, Vice President, and Dr Chan Wai Cheong, Secretary-General. Currently there are approximately 230 academic staff (65% of which possess a doctoral degree) and 50 professional trainers, together serving a population of approximately 3,000 fulltime students on degree programmes and 10,000 students on non-degree training courses.

In MPI there are six Schools, namely, Languages and Translation, Business, Public Administration, Physical Education and Sports, Arts and Health Sciences, providing a broad range of bachelor degree programmes in areas such as Translation and Interpretation (Chinese-English / Chinese-Portuguese), International Chinese Language Education, E-commerce, Marketing, Accounting, Public Relations, Management, Gaming and Recreation Management, Public Administration, Social Work, Computing, Sino-Lusophone Trade Relations, Physical Education, Visual Arts, Music, Design, Nursing, and Biomedical Technologies (Medical Laboratory and Pharmacy Technologies). In cooperation with several leading universities at home and abroad, MPI offers joint master degree programmes in areas such as Foreign Linguistics and Applied Linguistics, Sports Social Science, Physical Education and Sports Coaching, Sports Science, Physical Education, Social Work, Specialty Nursing, Medical Laboratory Technology, Public Administration, Public Management (MPA), Government Management, Engineering, Interdisciplinary Arts and Translation and Conference Interpretation, as well as joint PhD programmes in Portuguese Language and Culture, Public Management and Education. These programmes are all practically oriented, emphasizing both the acquisition of knowledge and cultivation of skills. Since its establishment, MPI has produced tens of thousands of professionals who are now serving in a variety of industries, playing important roles in society by utilizing their professional knowledge and skills, and receiving positive feedback from their employers.

mpi

Apart from offering degree programmes, MPI is also devoted to its missions in research and training. Research specialisms are located in, amongst others, the Social, Economic and Public Policy Research Centre, the Centre of Sino-Western Cultural Studies, the “One Country, Two Systems” Research Centre, the Language and Culture Research Centre of Macao, the MPI-QMUL Information Systems Research Centre, the Portuguese Language Teaching and Research Centre, the Gaming Teaching and Research Centre as well as the Cultural and Creative Industries Teaching and Research Centre, Chinese-Portuguese-English Machine Translation Laboratory. Training courses are conducted primarily in the Centre of Continuing Education and Special Projects, the MPI-Bell Centre of English (which includes the only IELTS International English Training and Testing Centre and BULATS Business Language Testing Service in Macao) and the Seniors Academy.

MPI’s Schools and Centres aim to ensure that their research promotes high teaching standards, contributes to discussions on current social issues and facilitates the implementation of Government policy, through conducting a variety of activities such as initiating collaborative research projects, publishing academic periodicals, organizing international academic conferences and Macao-wide competitions in areas such as English Speaking and Information Technology, in cooperation with prestigious universities and institutions overseas and on the Mainland. MPI’s research output, notably with regard to its research papers published in journals and award-winning monographs, has witnessed annual increases.

In recent years, in response to the SAR Government’s higher education policy of promoting academic accreditation, we have been committed to seeking accreditation to improve management and teaching quality. In February 2014, UK Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) announced on its website that MPI has received a Judgement of “confidence”, the highest rating given by the QAA. This is the first internationally recognised institutional review ever undertaken by a higher education institution in Macao. QAA has commended MPI’s academic standards, quality of learning opportunities, information about learning opportunities, and enhancement of learning quality, thus demonstrating that MPI meets international standards.

With this important process MPI will continue to strive for excellence in accordance with its philosophy of high quality, student-centred education. Rooted in Macao while serving the society, MPI endeavours to grow into a continuously improving higher education institution of excellence in terms of management, teaching and research within a vibrant academic culture, with the aim of dedicating itself to the social, economic and cultural development of Macao.

學院概況

mpi澳門理工學院成立於一九九一年九月十六日,是一所公立、多學科、應用型的高等學府。學院以“普專兼擅,中西融通”為校訓,以“教學與科研並重”為方針,以“小而美、小而精、出精品”為方向,以“紮根澳門,背靠祖國,面向世界,爭創一流”為理念,以“教學標準國際化、科研工作規範化、校園設施電子化、行政工作法治化”為治校標準。現任理事會成員為:院長李向玉教授,副院長嚴肇基教授、秘書長陳偉翔博士。現有教學、科研人員約二百五十人,其中博士學位擁有者約佔百分之七十,另有專業培訓員約五十五人。在校學位課程學生三千多人,非學位培訓課程學生每年一萬多人次。

學院下設六所學校,包括語言暨翻譯高等學校、管理科學高等學校、公共行政高等學校、體育暨運動高等學校、藝術高等學校、高等衛生學校。分別開設中英翻譯、中葡/葡中翻譯、國際漢語教育、葡萄牙語、電子商務、工商管理(市場學專業)、會計學、文學士(公共關係專業)、管理學、工商管理(博彩與娛樂管理專業)、公共行政學、社會工作學、電腦學、中國與葡語系國家經貿關係、體育教育、視覺藝術、音樂、設計、護理、生物醫學技術(檢驗技術/藥劑技術)、言語語言治療等學士學位課程;並與海內外著名大學合辦外國語言學及應用語言學、體育人文社會科學、體育教育訓練學、運動人體科學、體育專業、社會工作學、專科護理學、醫學檢驗技術理學、公共行政、公共管理 (MPA)、政府治理、工程學、跨領域藝術和筆譯及會議傳譯等碩士學位課程,以及葡萄牙語言文化、公共管理和教育學等博士學位課程。這些課程均以實用為導向,以應用學科和行業技術為教學內容,教授知識與培養技能並舉,部分課程已經與世界知名大學的課程接軌。澳門理工迄今已培養了數以萬計的專業人才,畢業生以所學到的專業知識和技能,在相關行業中發揮著不可或缺的作用,深受用人單位好評。

mpi

除了學位課程外,學院還兼負研究和培訓兩大任務。研究單位包括社會經濟與公共政策研究所、中西文化研究所、“一國兩制”研究中心、澳門語言文化研究中心、理工-倫敦大學瑪麗皇后學院資訊系統研究中心、葡語教學暨研究中心、博彩教學暨研究中心、文化創意產業教學暨研究中心、中葡英機器翻譯聯合實驗室等。培訓單位包括成人教育及特別計劃中心、理工-貝爾英語中心(內設澳門唯一的 IELTS“雅思”、BULATS“博思”英語測試中心)、長者書院等。

學院轄下各校、所、中心採用與海內外知名大學和機構開展合作研究、組織國際學術研討會、出版學術刊物、主辦全澳英語及資訊科技比賽等方式,以科研促進教學實踐、探討社會熱點問題、配合特區政府施政方針的實施。科研成果,尤其是發表於各類核心刊物的文章以及獲得各類獎項的著述,逐年增多。

近年,為遵循特區政府“推動評鑑”的高教政策,學院致力於開展評鑑工作,藉此不斷提升治校及教學素質。2014年2月,英國高等教育質量保障局 Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education(QAA)在網頁上向全球公佈:澳門理工學院以“充滿信心”的評級通過QAA的院校評鑑。這是澳門首間高等學府通過國際認可的院校評鑑。該局對學院的學術水準、學生學習質量、教育資訊和持續改善教學質量表示滿意,證明學院辦校水平達到國際標準。

參加國際評鑑是學院自我完善的重要途徑,最終目的還是不斷追求卓越,進一步提升教研素質,保證質量,以真正達到學院貫徹始終的“本土教育,服務澳門”的大原則,為澳門提供更優質的高等教育,為澳門培育更多人才,為澳門的社會、經濟和文化發展做出貢獻。